Top 10 New Rules and Regulations for Marijuana in the State of California – In Effect Since November 9, 2016
If you have read the news lately, you should have seen that Proposition 64 received the majority vote and was imposed into California Law. New Proposition 64 rules and regulations allow for legal consumption of marijuana for residents over 21 years of age. However, just like most things, every great bit of news always has some pros and cons. Below are the top ten things that everyone should know about Proposition 64.
The New Rules
1. Any person over 21 years of age can possess, transport and buy up to 28.5 grams of marijuana for recreational use
2. If you want to sell weed then you will need a state license.
3. State analysts believe that the taxes from marijuana sales in California could generate up to $1 billion annually which could be used for drug education programs.
4. Marijuana will be taxed by the state at a 15% excise tax on retail sale.
5. If you sell pot without a license, you could get up to six months in jail and $500 in fines.
6. If you sell pot, then you will have to abide by the rules set out by the state Bureau of Marijuana Control.
7. Marijuana commercials are illegal to be advertised on television.
8. For those under the age of 21, only medical users will be able to purchase marijuana legally.
9. If you get caught smoking marijuana in public, you can face a fine of up to $100. However, you can be fined up to $250 if you are caught smoking pot near a school or a place where tobacco smoking is prohibited.
10. Unless it is permitted by a local ordinance, then it is illegal to smoke marijuana in public places.
There you have it folks, the top ten things that are important to know about the newest proposition that has been signed into California law. Proposition 64 is a monumental law in pushing marijuana rights across the country. If you enjoyed this article, make sure to share it with your friends.
Make sure to abide by the new proposition 64 rules and regulations and have a wonderful day,